The Cóyotl (pronounced KAI-yeh-tuhl) Awards were founded in 2012 by Kristina “buni” Tracer as a means for the Furry Writers’ Guild to recognize and further the reach of quality anthropomorphic literature. Each year, Furry Writers’ Guild members may nominate and vote for the best short story, best novella, best novel, and best anthology from the previous year.

Kristina Tracer ran the awards for a season and a half before Mary E. Lowd took over as Awards Chair. In 2019 Mary E. Lowd stepped down and Linnea “LiteralGrill” Capps volunteered to be acting chair for the year. For the 2020 awards Madison “Makyo” Scott-Clary took over as official chair.

Frequently Asked Questions

I'm not a member of the Furry Writers' Guild, is my work eligible?

Yes! All literary work centering anthropomorphic characters is eligible, whether or not the author is a member of the FWG.

I self-published my book through Kindle Direct/IngramSpark, is that eligible?

Yes. If the work is for sale through retail outlets through physical or e-book form, then it is likely eligible.

I published my story on FurAffinity/SoFurry/Wattpad, is that eligible?

Unfortunately not. While gallery sites are very useful to writers, they are not the intended venue for works eligible for the Cóyotl Awards.

I published my work through Patreon, is that eligible?

We're not sure yet! We're working on coming up with guidelines surrounding work that is published and paid for via patronage. Stay tuned for that.